Report Frontline

Team India lost to Zimbabwe in the first T20

Sarojini Bishi

Harare: In the first match of the 5-match T20 series that started here, India under the leadership of Shubman Gill was defeated by Zimbabwe by 13 runs. Batting first, Zimbabwe scored 115 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the allotted overs. Brian Bennett (22), Diane Myers (23) and Clive Madande scored 29 runs. Ravi Bishnoi took 4 wickets as the most successful bowler for India. Among others, Washington Sundar took 2 wickets and Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Shaw took one wicket each. Chasing the target of 116 runs, Team India was all out for 102 runs in 19.5 overs.

Shubman Gill scored 31 and Washington scored 27. No other batsman could perform better. Seven batsmen could not touch double digits. On behalf of Zimbabwe, Tendai Chatara and Sikandar Raja took 3 wickets each. With this victory, Zimbabwe has taken a 1-0 lead in the 5-match series. Sikandar was adjudged the player of the match. Abhishek Sharma, Dhruv Jurel and Ryan Parag started their international T20 career through this match.

Leave a Comment