Report Frontline


Sarojini Bishi

The 2010 T20 World Cup was held in the West Indies. When England became the champion after losing to Australia in the final, India left the Super Eight. 12 teams were divided into 4 groups. India was in Group C with South Africa and Afghanistan. In the first match, India defeated Afghanistan by 7 wickets. Afghanistan scored 115 for 8 wickets in 20 overs. India lost 3 wickets in 14.5 overs and got it. Murali Vijay scored 48 runs. In the second match, India set a target of 187 runs against South Africa on the strength of Suresh Raina’s hundred. South Africa was able to score 172 runs after losing 5 wickets in 20 overs. Jacques Kallis scored 73 runs. Yusuf Pathan took 2 wickets for India

England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Australia, Sri Lanka and West Indies entered the Super Eight. In Group F, India ended the campaign losing to Australia, West Indies and Sri Lanka respectively. On the contrary, England defeated Pakistan by 6 wickets, South Africa by 39 runs and New Zealand by 3 wickets and entered the semi-finals. England-Sri Lanka and Pakistan-Australia clashed in the semi-finals.

In the first half, Sri Lanka made 128 runs for 6 wickets with the help of Angela Mathews’ 58 runs. England lost 3 wickets in 16 overs and got it. Kevin Peterson scored 42 runs. Batting first in the second half, Pakistan set a target of 192 runs against Australia. Umar Akmal scored 56 off 35 balls. In response, Australia lost 7 wickets with one ball to spare and achieved the winning target. Michael Hussey scored 60 runs while Mohammad Amir took 3 wickets.

In the final, Australia batted first and made 147 runs. David Hussey scored 59 runs. Ran Sidebottom took 2 wickets. England lost 3 wickets in 17 overs and achieved the victory. Craig Casewetter scored 63 runs. In addition, England became the third team to win the T20 World Cup trophy.

Leave a Comment