Report Frontline

Newly elected MLAs will take oath today, Speaker election on 20th

Sarojini Bishi

Bhubaneswar: Today and tomorrow i.e. June 18 and 19, for two days, the newly elected MLAs of the 17th Legislative Assembly will be administered the oath by Kamchala Bachaspati Ranendra Pratap. The MLAs who won the 2024 general election will take oath in the assembly on Tuesday and Wednesday. A total of 146 MLAs will take oath in this oath taking ceremony.

The Assembly Secretariat informed that the oath-taking program will continue on Tuesday and Wednesday from 10 am to 5 pm. Similarly, it is said that the nomination papers will be submitted for the election of the new speaker on 19th. Speaker election will be held on 20th. Former minister and Ranpur activist Surma Padhi is being talked about as the speaker, but the BJP has not clarified yet.

It is worth noting that there is a rumor that BJP may appoint its senior leader Surma Padhi as Speaker. Since the support of 78 MLAs of BJP and 3 independent MLAs in the assembly, it is said that both the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be held by BJP. On the other hand, the three-way security system will continue for the three-day assembly session. DGP Arun Shadangi inspected the assembly security. According to the DGP, there will be 8 platoons with 75 police officers for the 3-day session.

Leave a Comment